Stepping Out of Comfort Zones (one step at a time)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

As a photographer with more of an interest leaning towards portraiture, I don’t photograph other people often. When I say photograph other people, I mean directing people to ‘put your hand a bit higher?’ ‘and could you tilt your head more to the center?’ ‘yup yes like that’ ‘no no relax your hand’ etc. One of the reasons is because I don’t like directing people or bossing people around in this photographic area. I get embarrassed when people get the posture right but-not-quite-there-yet and with my negligent attitude I will wave it off in my head and take the shot anyway. Then the subject will hurry over and beg to look at the camera, a bit hesitantly I’d hand it over and they might or might not have good or bad reactions to it.

Photographing Joanna was a breeze! Well, it didn’t start out a breeze, there were some tumbleweeds when we decided what we were going for in the shot. Also it was right 12pm noon. As we progressed we got more into the props, the ideas, the different things. Capturing good shots made me more confident in directing her to move around, jump, skip, run, hold a pose. We were absolutely thrilled when we found a little dandelion (note: little) but were dismayed when it was so little we couldn’t capture the little seeds flying around. The location we shot at wasn’t very open, more like a side road. Still, when people or cars passed by we all felt a bit embarrassed – the overdressed girl jumping around and the house clothes girl with messy sweaty hair.

I know I’m not quite there yet though, if I were to select a few favourites, I can only pick one I’m truly truly proud of. Although the photos were a trial to filter and to edit (my bum went sore after the first 2 hours, I can’t imagine how fashion photographers manage to do this daily), I got so excited I wanted to photograph more people! People I don’t know that well but have been thinking of asking. Stepping out of comfort zones, from friends (this blog post’s step), to friends of friends, and maybe maybe, but very highly unlikely, some day in the far far future, strangers.

Oh, and this is also my 365 for the day!  (I also use too much brackets.)

4 thoughts on “Stepping Out of Comfort Zones (one step at a time)

Notes

