Analogue Meetup V.2

On Saturday, (insanely enthusiastic) film enthusiast Lee Young proposed a film photography appreciation meetup. I suggested a green place to shoot at, FRIM (which stands for Forest Research Institute Malaysia, mind me) maybe, because I’ve never been. I’ve always assumed FRIM was some faraway out of state place like Pahang, turns out it’s only half an hour drive away from Mont Kiara. Everyone met at an LRT station at which I did one of those meeting new people things. I met Brian! Nice, easy-going person to talk with, luckily for me. I had no social anxiety attacks. Then I found out he’s studying in the same university as me ha ha ha ha but different years.

Photobucket

Photobucket

When we reached FRIM Qing had been waiting for almost an hour. She got angry at me and we separated until after 2 sessions we grouped up again. One of those two sentences is a lie. You know those hiking forests one sees in photos and ooh and ahh over the beautiful woodland areas in mostly the States? FRIM is the Malaysia equivalent, except more hotter and humid. Still, it was quite a sight, with morning light filtering in between trees we pointed as we drove past and claimed PHOTOS WILL BE TAKEN THERE.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

LY’s Yashica TLR I fell in love with. It has a 3D moving-animation-digital visual to it when you look down, left is right and right is left, you really have to see it to get what I mean, this TTV photo does it nil justice. It looks like it’s digital but there’s probably some magic fairy dust in the viewfinder.

Photobucket

I brought red fabric and made Qing dance around until she was dizzy. Not sure how to present the pictures yet so you have one.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I LOVE GREENERIES.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

YOU’RE SUCH A GIRL, MERLIN QING.

Not halfway we were climbing up to the canopy walk it started to drizzle. Then outright poured. We half walked half ran for 13 minutes in the rain, worried about cameras, phones, until we were drenched to the skin. It’s really sad I don’t have any photos of those 13 minutes rain-walking. Funny how I unconsciously snap less photos when the number of people with cameras around me increases. Qing and I referenced the hell out of everything lagging behind while the guys were ahead of us.

Photobucket

After lunch, back at LY’s place. Silver gelatin prints. They make me itch to print.

Photobucket

Brian showed us his pictures from North Korea and misc.

Photobucket

Pictured: me trying to figure out the folding camera’s selenium meter, Yashica Mat-124G TLR, The-Folding-Camera-I-Didn’t-Know-How-To-Work-Or-What-It’s-Called (*edit: it’s a ’54 Kodak Retina IIIc), Lee Young explaining how to work it to everyone. The basic adjusting of my AE-1 is, well, basic, I barely know how to work the TLR, nevermind the folding camera. Those cameras and I need to get properly acquainted.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Film family portrait. 90% of these are Lee Young’s insane collections.

PLOT TWIST: My film camera AE-1 ran out of battery after 2 shots. HA. HA. HA. HA. HA. CONSIDERING THIS WAS A FILM MEETUP. Anyway, plot twist aside, this was pleasantly fun! I actually enjoyed myself without any moment of awkwardness, I’m glad Qing did too, it’s not often I hangout with a bunch of people of different age groups. Also, meeting new people isn’t such a bad thing after all, I should pluck up my nervous guts and do it more often.

Followed Qing back after that, she showed me all of her old dragon stuff. She hoards every single piece of paper she sketches on, exam papers, timetables, notes, and sticks it into files. I looked through 2 files and 2 sketchbooks while she occasionally exclaimed “that’s OLLLDDDDDD” and laughed at the origins of her dragon drawing.

Photobucket

Hehehehehehehehehehe.

Photobucket

Here is her amazingly detailed and extremely lots of hard work put into TARDIS blue dragon clay sculpture, inspired by Doctor Who. For any DW geeks out there, the symbols on the side of the dragon’s neck she painstakingly painted on with a mechanical pencil nib are Gallifreyan, which translates to ‘Time Lady’. ZXNMNCMNBCMCXBXZN I KNOW.

Photobucket

I wish I had gotten more detailed shots of its paws. This blue thing sits neatly in the palm of your hand. ISN’T THIS AMAZING. I used to dabble in clay for some time back but all I have left is half a block of unused clay. Okay I got carried away, this was supposed to be a analogue meetup post but I got carried away hahaha Czech Out her gallery because. Just because.

4 thoughts on “Analogue Meetup V.2

  1. Awesome photos! The folding camera is a ’54 Kodak Retina IIIc camera, it has a selenium meter which is battery independent. and the TLR is Mat-124G :P

    Btw, good job for just using a 50mm throughout the trip!

    1. Oh man I gotta amend my mistakes in the blogpost soon. I thought it was “solenoid” omg wasn’t paying attention at all.

      Aw shucks thanks! I liked how most of them came out as well, (though not film argh). 50mm is permanently fixed on my camera nowadays.

Notes

