The Sloth Sickness

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

A very happy Sandy.

Photobucket

Look at the size of that golden retriever and it’s favourite ball *piiiipppp* 

Photobucket

Photobucket

I can’t remember the last time I went to IKEA, actually went to IKEA to browse pretty modern looking furnitures and bedsheets. The last time I went with the sheep, also my first time having meatballs. I even bought some home! Hanged out with Hui Mei and Qing two weeks ago. Experimenting with an unusual colouring method… a lot of purple and cool bloo tones. Yay? Nay?

I used to blog and take pictures almost every day, what happened to that?

I keep track of my favourite artists and photographers’ work, browsing ‘ooh’ing and ‘aaahh’ing over them.

Last 3 years: ‘ooh’ ‘aaaahh’ this is beautiful, I’m so determined I’m so motivated hey I can do that yeah let’s get down to it bye internet hello camera
Recently (2012): ‘ooh’ ‘aaahh’ ‘woww this place is beautiful’ I must go there one day oh well I’ll just wait till I get there then I’ll start taking pics for now I’ll continue looking for more lovely pictures

I’ve lost the urge to shoot since the start of 2012, tbh. Lost the motivation to take charge, to go out with photoshoots with friends that I’ve promised ‘after SPM’, ‘after A levels’, ‘after exams’. Blogposts are often updated with daily life snapshots. Not that I’m saying it’s a bad thing, it’s just lacking one’s certain motivation of creating art. It’s very unhealthy, photography should be a constant pushing a constant day-to-day exercise, no matter how crappy you think the end results look, at least it’s a result. No harm in that (except maybe piling up using space in one’s hard drive). I never contemplated doing a 365 photos / 52 weeks, because the main goal is to keep you motivated, to set a goal to take photos everyday in a year (365) and to take a photo each week in a year (52), right? I thought – at least, 2009 me thought – I take photos almost everyday, I don’t have daily internet access use, seems pretty pointless.

Now I’m thinking I’m really in need of one. Think of it as a treatment or therapy (heard of self portrait therapy?) to this Sloth sickness plaguing me. The first step is always the hardest.

Notes

