Penang and a bedless night


Do you know how many uploads it took to put this video up hfsdjkajkfsadfkughughughhujshgejkhughguhseughhj
*NOTE: If all you see is green  screen, right click the vid > settings > disable hardware acceleration > close.

First stop motion done using an ACTUAL video editing software and not some clump like Windows Movie Maker. I swear, the latter keeps hanging and crashing each time I import a sequence of photos. Not Premiere Pro though, no. Although it took me a few days to get the right version and install in correctly, it’s all worth it! No need to rely on the fixed low-res videos WMM exports, much much more flexibility with frames and colours. It looks daunting at first but with best interwebz friend Google by my side, I actually did a decent stop motion. All this blabber may have been for nothing, seeing as few people click on video play button (me, I’m the sort who won’t click the button unless it’s something I really want to watch, like Sherlock, or kepochi me wants to kepochi in other people’s lives).

IMG_1312
Hello, I should probably start now. Joanne, Jocelyn, Yee Teng and I boarded the Aeroline bus to Penang. It was very decent, they even have a bus “stewardess” who served drinks and we each had a Subway sandwich for breakfast. THERE WAS ALSO A MINI TV SCREEN THING AND I WATCHED FORREST GUMP WHICH WAS AMEHZING AND Johnny English Reborn which was doubly hilarious! Anything with Rowan Atkinson in it is hilarious, period.

IMG_1330

IMG_1369

IMG_1371

IMG_1378
She can’t help it that she’s awesome, even more awesomer and happier than the other ladies.

IMG_1408

IMG_1499

IMG_1519
Typical Bollywood scene

IMG_1643
On a whim, Yee Teng’s auntie suggested we went for a Cruise To Nowhere (really the name was “A Cruise To Nowhere”.) Alright, we all thought it was a cruise cruise, not a tom cruise I mean, we thought it had a glamourous swimming pool on the upper deck, few levels of shopping centers and the like. Well… it wasn’t. It was more shoddy, dodgy, and to quote Jocelyn: “expecting a prostitute to pop out at any moment” kind of place. Armed with apples, camera, tripod, an ukulele, and each a bag of spare clothes, we camped out at the deck.

IMG_1941

IMG_2135

IMG_2171

IMG_2256e
IMG_2299

IMG_2368

IMG_2438

IMG_2491

IMG_2605

There was a lovely moon that night, THIS PHOTO DOES IT NO JUSTICE. We sat there on the LIFE JACKET labelled benches, with the occasional ukulele melody, sea breeze, and the nice company. Caaaaaaaalm. Zeeeeeeen.

IMG_2728

IMG_2768

IMG_2828

IMG_2834

IMG_2840

IMG_2972

IMG_3127
She flipped me the finger before giving the camera this adorable look. (Understandable, she was trying to sleep and my constant annoying ka-CHAK ka-CHAK ka-CHAK KA-CHAK of camera shutter for stop motions was really… annoying HAHA)

IMG_3186

IMG_3190
We look a bit like hobos. Dat’s ok.

IMG_3224

IMG_3230

IMG_3330

The deck had really pretty lights, I’ll give it that.

The LIFE JACKET benches weren’t really sleeping material. A kind member of the staff offered to open the pub for us to sleep in because ‘the deck isn’t quite safe’ but the pub stank of cigarette smoke and was way too cold. Yee Teng and I kept watch until I dozed for an hour at 3am but Yee Teng da champion woman. She didn’t sleep at all! At 4 she woke me and it was another groggy 2 hours as I fell in and out of sleep sitting up foetus style, sharing a towel-blanket with Joanne. Then it started to drizzle so we had to go one deck lower. Then it started to rain quite steadily, and a pipe behind Joanne burst? leaked? so we had to go indoors. Then there was a thundersTHORm (sorry I couldn’t pass up the chance to make a THOR joke) and we watched the decks flood.

To the cruise’s defense though, the dining room was alright. The kitchen staff and pilot-chef-sumwhat people were alright. We broke our fast at 6 in the morn’ while waiting for the storm to calm and the sun to rise. (I like that last sentence. I feel like I’m talking in a George R.R. Martin novel.)

IMG_3412

IMG_3515

IMG_3548

IMG_3603

IMG_3609

IMG_3627

IMG_3631

IMG_3725
I like how colourful she is

We went to the beach after lunch. On the same no-bed-night day. No rest for the wicked.

IMG_3955
Here’s everyone looking kewl with their LMFAO sunnies but I don’t have one so I hide my face in shame :(

IMG_4080

IMG_4278

IMG_4334

Ritual.

IMG_4362
I lav this so much thank you Joanne! Am easily amused everytime the waves crash against my calves.

IMG_4375

Mexican Duck Pizza and… ice cream. Which costed us a pretty penny. The Banana Pancakes song played at this point, hence the song for the stop motion.

IMG_4431
Sea wall.

IMG_4454

IMG_4485
Yee Teng got to fly her kite! A to-do thing since Form 5, I remember.

IMG_4518

IMG_4586

IMG_4605

IMG_4696

IMG_4807

Most events of the beach were documented with stop motions, but I can’t muster the energy to make a second one after that Cruise To Nowhere. (Apparently I can, though sloppy, see below.) I make them for fun, and being satisfied at the results anyway, no rush.

IMG_4869

IMG_4958

IMG_4995

IMG_4996

IMG_5001

IMG_5002

IMG_5027

Someone nasty took Yee Teng’s pink suitcase when we took the bus back. Why, why so greedy?! Just… argh I hope Karma turns round and bites you in the butt. 3d2n seemed more like 1d1n, what with the messed up sleep on Cruise night/day. See, idek what to call it.

2 thoughts on “Penang and a bedless night

Notes

